Why work gets frustrating

Saw this video this morning. It shows you just what being a consultant is all about.

Posted in General | 17 Comments

Stop the Insanity!

Posted in News and politics | Leave a comment

The work of Congress on May 12th

Posted in News and politics | Leave a comment

Another productive day from congress

Posted in News and politics | 3 Comments

Who should we really fear?

I am beginning to fear greatly what the next four years will bring to this country. While I certainly have my opinions about who should be president, the bottom line is, I love this country and want whoever the president is to lead this country in a direction that will promote long term peace and prosperity. I fear what awaits us in the cloudy mist of our future when our government cannot call men terrorist who openly call for the annihilation of a country and the open killing of as many American civilians as possible. Yet, in that same inanity call our military veterans  “extremist” and “terrorist cells.” 

The people that “cut off a person’s face with piano wire” and an Iranian president that says “To those who doubt, to those who ask is it possible, or those who do not believe, I say accomplishment of a world without America and Israel is both possible and feasible" are not terrorist. Those that really mean us harm are our own military and those right wing radicals.

Have we really lost our ability to understand the greater threat here? Or have we simply lost our courage to see it? Or worse yet courage to face it.

Posted in News and politics | Leave a comment

They sacrifice

I saw this picture a few weeks ago and it really touched me. I hope whoever this is does not mind me sharing but I think it is important for all of us to remember our service men and women. They sacrifice a lot to fight those that mean to do us harm, while we go on enjoying our every day life.

Maybe your are one of those that don’t believe their service is really needed.

Maybe this video will disabuse you of such a mind set.

                              http://www.tangle.com/flash/swf/flvplayer.swf

Posted in News and politics | Leave a comment

Honest Abe

I just finished reading the book “Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln.” This was a stellar book that is a great read and very educational. I love books about our founding father. Abraham Lincoln was an incredible person. He was driven to leave a mark on the world and I think he left more of a mark on the world than even he expected. While the book does show his incredible political ability (an ability we are sorely in need of again), this is not what impressed me most about the man. What impressed me most about the man was his ability to push through the hard times and stay focus on the goal. To not turn angry, bitter or vengeful but stay focused on what you are trying to accomplish.

Posted in General | Leave a comment

More debt please

Is this really what people were after when they elected Obama?

“In only two months, since the last CBO budget review in January, Democrats have passed laws that increase spending by $134 billion in the last six months of this fiscal year alone”

 

So let me get this right. The U.S. economy is struggling to survive because corporate executives got their companies debut to equity ratio to high, and the U.S. governments response is to do the same thing and run up a huge deficit even higher?!?!?!

Forget about learning from history! WE CANNOT EVEN LEARN FROM THE PRESENT!!!!!!!

“’Fairness’ is one of the great mantras of the left. Since everyone has his own definition of fairness, that word is a blank check for the expansion of government power. What "fairness" means in practice is that third parties — busybodies — can prevent mutual accommodations by others.”  Thomas Sowell

Posted in News and politics | Leave a comment

The light of the young

I recently went to my daughters school to see her class presentation about American symbols. It was wonderful to see her and her friends sing songs and talk about different American symbols (The White House, the Flag, Washington, etc). They sang “I am proud to be an American” which is one of my favorite songs. The feeling of hope and inspiration I got from watching my daughter in the morning was muted by what I saw on TV and read about the rest of the day.

You see today in the media it was all about government bailouts and AIG executive bonuses. The rest of the day was focused on what our government and large corporations have been doing the past year, and it reeked of selfishness, greed and denial. Republicans, Democrats and Executives spewing hate a blame at each other, none really interesting in service to their country or doing what is best for their country. Each solely focused on protecting their interests and their pile of green paper.

Reflecting back on the events of the morning in my daughters class room, which where full of hope, selfless and patriotic feelings of service towards our great country, something that today seems like an anachronism. I pray for my daughters future this is not the case. May these children not reflect these values of those that came before them.

Posted in News and politics | Leave a comment

Time in Manila

I have been enjoying my time in Manila. It has been an interesting experience to get out side the U.S. again. Here are some pictures of the city. Our office is on the 15th floor of the building so the view of the city was pretty good.

 

There are also some views of the city that make me remember how blessed I have been in life.

 

Manila is a very crowded city with cars, people and everything else crammed everywhere. The people here have been great and pictures like this make your really take count of the wonderful blessing which have been afforded to me and my family.

Posted in General | Leave a comment